4.7 C
Saint Andrews
Sunday, January 20, 2019

Editorial Board 2017-2018

Editor-in-Chief

Tom Williams – Editor@thesaint-online.com

Tom is a fourth-year International Relations student from Brighton. Having spent two years working for The Saint’s news section (the best section) – most recently as news editor, he now assists in content creation and general support across all sections of the paper. Tom survives on a purely caffeine-based diet. He doesn’t know what he would like to do after graduation, envies those who do, and wishes everyone would stop asking him.

Deputy Editor – Content

Annie Smith

Annie is a second-year English, Spanish, and Italian student from Memphis, Tennessee. As news editor, she works to report on the stories that concern the St Andrews community accurately and without bias. When she’s not reporting for The Saint, you can find Annie crossing countries off her travel bucket list, planning events for Agnes Blackadder Hall, and taking long walks on the beach, or to ALDI.

Deputy Editor – Design

László Szegedi

Laszlo is a fourth-year studying Film Studies and Comparative Literature in a joint degree. Born in Budapest and raised in rural Hungary, he grew up stacking his shelves with books and DVDs. As an avid film lover, he gladly grabs the camera to experiment with recording and editing. He joined The Saint when he saw an opportunity to help break down the binary between high culture and pop culture in writing. Besides his journalistic interests, he hopes to make feature films on a professional scale one day.

Web editor

Sven Struan Finlay – web@thesaint-online.com

Business manager

Sasha Veliko-Shapko – saint.businessteam@gmail.com 

Sasha is a fourth-year Psychology student hailing from the great state of California. As the business manager, she ensures the paper has adequate funding to be printed. When she isn’t pestering local companies for advertisements, Sasha hopes to visit 100 countries (she’s at 62 now) before turning 25… and maybe have time to finish her degree in the process.

News editor

Seoras Lyall – news@thesaint-online.com   

Viewpoint editor

Archie Batra viewpoint@thesaint-online.com

Money editor

Sanjana Ramaswamymoney@thesaint-online.com

Sanjana Ramaswamy is a first-year Economics student from New York. In her position as Money Editor, she plans to combine her interests in journalism and economics to bring relevant business and financial stories to the student community. In her previous position as Deputy Money Editor, she introduced a new feature, “St Andrews Economists,” a series focusing on the research interests of the economics faculty. Sanjana is passionate about Bharatanatyam (a classical Indian dance form), reading, and traveling.

Features editor

Catrìona Aitken – features@thesaint-online.com

Catriona is a fourth-year International Relations student who has enjoyed writing regularly for the section in her previous role as deputy features editor. Aside from a love for storytelling, Catriona’s hobbies include swimming, reading, music, and Netflix binges. Stay updated with the Features Team on Twitter @SaintFeatures

 

Events editor

Alexandra Sicot-Koontzevents@thesaint-online.com

 

Arts & Culture editors

Olivia Hendren – arts@thesaint-online.com

Sport editor

Harry Dean – sport@thesaint-online.com

Photography chief

Samantha Chinomona– photography@thesaint-online.com

 

Video editor

Elisa Jockyman Roithmann – video@thesaint-online.com

Illustration chief

Rachel Cripps – illustration@thesaint-online.com

Senior copy editor

James Fox – jaf23@st-andrews.ac.uk

James is a fourth-year Modern History student from the village of Gullane, not far from Edinburgh. He previously served as deputy money editor and enjoys writing the occasional piece for Sport. Outside The Saint he co-presents a music show on STAR and spends the rest of his time playing the guitar, shaking cocktails, and trying not to burn whatever he’s cooking.